Documentation

Thanks for using Jaunt! Here you’ll find information about how to use Jaunt, what various settings mean, and how these settings effect usage.

Feel free to contact us with any questions that this documentation does not answer. We are always striving to improve the information we have available.

FAQ

A Jaunt Event is special Slack message that organizes ridesharing between users in your workspace. Jaunt Events form the basis for Jaunt as an application.

Using Jaunt to enable ridesharing for your event is easy!

  1. Plan an event for your team or workspace members
  2. Create a Jaunt Event describing your planned event
  3. Users sign up to be drivers to your event
  4. Users can join cars with open seats

A ‘Closed’ Jaunt Event can no longer be interacted with. After an event takes place, users may choose to close the Jaunt Event to store a record of those who carpooled together. Additionally, a week or two after the event takes place, Jaunt will close the event automatically. See below for more information about how to close a Jaunt Event.

In order for Jaunt to interact with a channel or conversion in your Slack workspace, it needs to be a member (just like normal users). To use Jaunt in a private channel, make sure you add Jaunt to the channel first!

Use /invite @Jaunt to add Jaunt to a private channel.

Though this is a planned feature, Jaunt does not currently notify riders that their driver has decided to cancel. Please ask your drivers to notify riders if their plans change!

Jaunt Events cannot be opened more than 30 days before the event occurs; this is to prevent the event message from being lost in your conversation. In the future, you will be able to schedule Jaunt Events to be posted at a later date. 

Jaunt is free to use, and always will be. In the future, certain additional features may be limited to paid accounts.

If you are interested in supporting Jaunt, thank you! Buy us a drink here.

As a design philosophy, we have limited Jaunt’s permissions requirements to the bare minimum required to achieve the functionality we are looking for. These include:

  • channels:read – Required to check if a channel is public
  • chat:write – Required to post messages to users and channels
  • chat:write.public – Required to post message to public channels that Jaunt is not a member of
  • commands – Required to respond to Slack slash commands (like /jaunt)
  • groups:read – Required to a check if a channel is private
  • users:read – Required to identify which timezone a user is in when creating an event. This does not allow Jaunt to view user’s email addresses

Jaunt stores the following type of information in order to ensure proper functionality:

  • Slack Team, Channel, and User IDs
  • Any data that is provided to Jaunt through dialogs (such as event names, descriptions, etc)

For more information, please check out our Privacy Policy.

Team-specific settings are currently not supported; in the future, settings will be available on your team’s Jaunt Home Tab. 

Issues / Suggestions

We are always trying to improve Jaunt. If you discover a bug, or have a suggestion for better functionality, please let us know via our issue tracker!

Events

Creating an Event

Jaunt exists to organize shared transportation to events, which can be created with the slack command below.

/jaunt [Event Name]

In the “Create an event” dialog, provide the following information about your event.

Fields:

Name:

The event must have a name identifying itself. The shorter the better- a longer description can be provided in a later field.

Date:

A date for the event should be provided to convey to the riders and for automatic closure of events after the event data has passed.

Time:

A time for the event should be provided. This is when the event will begin.

Location:

A location for the event should be provided. This is where the cars will meet / park.

Details:

Further details including what to bring, what to expect, and other plans should be included in the details section.

Max Drivers:

The maximum number of drivers this event can support. (This can be useful if there is limited parking!)

Share with:

(Optional) A selection of channels to post an additional link to the Jaunt event. (For events in public channels only) 

Closing an Event

When a Jaunt event reaches the end of its life, it can be closed. This removes all of the interactive buttons on the event and preserves it as a record within your channel along with your other messages.

Events are closed automatically one week after an event occurs. They can also be closed manually from the Jaunt menu if needed.

How to close an event

To close an event manually, press “Close event” from the Jaunt menu. This will bring up the “Close an event” dialog.

The selection dropdown will show all events that you have personally created, as well as all of the events in the current channel. 

After choosing an event, you be presented with a summary of the event you are about to close, along with an option to cancel.

Can I repoen an event?

Once an event is closed, it cannot be opened again. If you closed an event accidentally, create a new event to replace it instead.

Sharing an Event to Another Channel

Often times it may be helpful to refer to a Jaunt Event from a different channel than the channel it was created in. In this case, Jaunt can “share” the event to multiple channels. In the channel the Jaunt Event was created in, the event will look normal. In channels where the event has been share to, the event will be an abbreviated version with a link to the original.

Sharing an Event During Creation

While creating a Jaunt Event, you can indicate what channels you want Jaunt to share the event to. Refer to Creating an Event for more information.

Sharing an Event After Creation

To share an event after it has been created, go to the channel in which the event resides and type /jaunt to access the main Jaunt menu. Click the Share Event button, enter the channels you want the event shared to, and submit. Thats it! 

Caveats

Events in private channels cannot be shared, and events in public channels cannot be shared with private channels.

Ridership

Becoming a Driver

You can open your car to others in your workspace by signing up to be a driver for Jaunt events.  

The “Driver Toggle” button in a Jaunt event header will either add or remove your car from the event.

Each user can be a driver for only one car per event, and drivers cannot be riders in any other car for the same event.

Add a car

To add a car to a Jaunt event, press the “Driver Toggle” button. This will bring up the “Add a car” dialog where you can provide information about your trip.

Departure Date:

The departure date for the trip. Generally, this will be the same as the event date.

Departure Time:

The departure time for the trip. If you are picking teammates up from different locations, choose the time that you will be heading towards the event location.

Available Seats:

The number of available seats in your car that you would like to provide to your teammates. The driver’s seat should not be included in this count.

Compensation:

(Optional) A payment handle that your riders can use to pay their portion of fuel for the trip. 

Contact:

(Optional) A way to contact you (typically via phone) in the event plans change.

Trip Details:

(Optional) Further details about the trip. Include pickup locations, car appearance, and relevant contact information.

Remove a car

To remove your car from an event, simply press “Toggle Driver” again and confirm. As of now, Jaunt won’t notify your riders that you’ve removed yourself as a driver, so please be sure to let them know!

Catching a Ride

Let drivers know that you want to catch a ride with them by using the “Rider Toggle” button.

Users can only ride in a single car per event, and cannot become drivers while they are riding with someone else.

Ride in a car

Press the “Rider Toggle” button for the car you would like to join. If you are already riding in another car for this event, you will be removed from that car and added to this one instead.

Cars have a limited number of available seats. If the car is full, you will be unable to join.

Leave a car

Press the “Rider Toggle” button for the car you are currently in to leave.